top of page

Notre histoire

Nous avons vécu l'isolement et la difficulté de l'intégration et nous avons constaté que cela peut être plus difficile pour les partenaires accompagnateurs. Dans ces situations, l'une des parties est au travail pendant de longues heures et le partenaire est à la maison, incapable de travailler, ne parlant pas vraiment la langue et se sentant très isolé et seul.

 

Nous avons également constaté que de nombreux couples, qui déménagent dans un nouveau pays/une nouvelle région alors qu'un seul partenaire travaille, décident que le moment est idéal pour avoir un bébé. Cela a l'avantage d'avoir un parent à la maison pendant les années de formation de l'enfant, mais sans famille élargie, pas beaucoup d'amis et surtout les barrières linguistiques, c'est aussi très difficile.

 

Nous avons décidé de relever ce défi et nous nous efforçons de fournir une chaîne de soutien chaleureuse et une chaîne que l'Association Glocal espère fournir.

Rencontrer l'équipe

image00117.jpeg

Janet Prince, RM IBCLC

Je suis maman et mamie et je suis venue seule à Zoug pour le travail en 2007. 

 

J'ai vécu le voyage de transition, m'adaptant à un nouveau pays et à une nouvelle culture, me faisant de nouveaux amis, apprenant les nuances culturelles et j'ai eu le mal du pays et la tristesse, qui reviennent parfois encore.

 

Je suis sage-femme et consultante en lactation et j'ai des qualifications en conseil avec un accent sur la santé mentale maternelle. 

 

Je suis une personne très perspicace, douce, compréhensive et attentionnée et je souhaite utiliser mes compétences et mon expérience au profit des autres.

 

L'association Glocal est mon bébé ici… comme mes autres le sont en Angleterre, dont deux merveilleux petits-fils. Je suis mariée à un charmant Suisse et nous aimons beaucoup la randonnée, la cuisine, les bons vins et la vie en général.

image00066.jpeg

Stéphanie Mateo

Je suis une maman australienne de deux garçons, mariée à un français. J'ai passé une grande partie de mon enfance en Asie et à l'été 2018, nous avons déménagé à Zoug pour le travail de Hubby. 

J'ai déménagé avec la certitude que mes expériences précédentes à l'étranger me permettraient de m'adapter, de m'intégrer et de m'installer dans la vie suisse en un rien de temps !  Mais pour être honnête, j'ai été touché. Déménager ici était unique et j'ai dû relever le défi de me faire de nouveaux amis, d'avoir un bébé sans «village» facile, PND, le stress de ne pas parler la langue et une multitude d'autres éléments qui composent les «parties difficiles» de vie internationale. De même, j'ai maintenant la chance de partager les connaissances de ma communauté pour aider les autres dans des situations similaires. 

J'ai une formation en communication et j'ai toujours été attirée par les projets et les organisations à but non lucratif. J'aime parler et partager et je veux aider à sensibiliser et à résoudre le problème croissant de la santé mentale dans notre communauté.
 

Our wonderful volunteers

We can't do what we do without our amazing group of volunteers. Each person has their own set of skills and value they bring to the Glocal Association. We are grateful for everything they do to help us support this community we're growing. If you'd like to help us out - send us an email and we'll be in touch ASAP. 

niki photo.jpg

Niki Tucker

Stories & Songs, Toddler Survivors

jacqueline photo.jpg

Jacqueline Fanchini

Pregnant & New Mums '22,
Marketing Support

Jessica.jpg

Jessica Denton

Pregnant & New Mums '23

Andrea Csala.jpg

Andrea Csala

Admin and all rounder

Liz McGinn.jpg

Liz McGinn

All rounder

Karis4.jpg

Karis Johnson

Pregnant & New Mums

Sabine.jpg

Sabine de Potter

MindWalk

Sravati.jpg

Sravanti 

Pregnant & New Mums '23

emma photo_edited.jpg

Emma Sugden

Baby First Aid 

Tracey Bruton.jpg

Tracey Bruton

Positive Menopause Switzerland, Supper Sisters

Sonja Knecht_edited.jpg

Sonja Knecht

MindWalk

Rhiannon Thomas.jpg

Rhiannon Thomas

Toddler Survivors, Stories & Songs

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-21 at 10.39.11.jpg

Heinz Bucher

Admin and all rounder

Nos partenaires

Logo-big.png
Logo Rund 2.png
open hand birth.png
SH_Logo.webp
mrssporty-wortmarke-logo.png
NH logo.png
bottom of page

top of page

Our Story

We have experienced the isolation and difficulty of integration and we've noted that this can be harder for accompanying partners. In these situations, one of the party is out at work for long hours and the partner is at home, not able to work, not really speaking the language and feeling very isolated and lonely.

 

We've also found that many couples, moving to a new country/area when only one partner is working, decide that the time is perfect to have a baby. This has the advantage of one parent being at home for the formative years of the infant’s life, but without extended family, not having many friends and particularly the language barriers, it is also very difficult.

 

We've decided to meet this challenge, and are working towards providing a warm chain of support and one which The Glocal Association hopes to provide.

Meet The Team

image00117.jpeg

Janet Prince, RM IBCLC

I am a mum and a Nana and I came to Zug, on my own for work in 2007. 

 

I have lived the transition journey, adapting to a new country and culture, making new friends, learning the cultural nuances and I’ve had all the homesickness and sadness, which sometimes still comes back.

 

I am a midwife and a lactation consultant and I have qualifications in counseling with a focus on maternal mental health. 

 

I am a very perceptive, gentle, under-standing and caring person and want to use my skills and experience to benefit others.

 

The Glocal association is my baby here… as my others are in England, including two wonderful grandsons. I am married to a lovely Swiss man and we thoroughly enjoy hiking, cooking, good wines and life in general.

image00066.jpeg

Stephanie Mateo

I’m an Aussie mum of two boys, married to a Frenchman. I spent large chunks of my childhood living in Asia and in the summer of 2018, we made the move to Zug for Hubby’s job. 

I moved confident that my previous overseas experiences would set me up to adapt, integrate and settle into Swiss life in no time!  But to be honest, I was humbled. Moving here was unique and I have had to embrace the challenges of making new friends, having a baby with no easy ‘village’, PND, stresses of not speaking the language and a slew of other elements that make up the ‘hard parts’ of international living. Equally, I now have the chance to share my community’s knowledge to help others in similar situations. 

My background is Communications, and I’ve always been drawn to not-for-profit projects and organisations. I love to talk and share and I want to help raise awareness and address the growing issue of Mental Health in our community.
 

Our wonderful volunteers

We can't do what we do without our amazing group of volunteers. Each person has their own set of skills and value they bring to the Glocal Association. We are grateful for everything they do to help us support this community we're growing. If you'd like to help us out - send us an email and we'll be in touch ASAP. 

niki photo.jpg

Niki Tucker

Stories & Songs, Toddler Survivors

Tracey Bruton.jpg

Tracey Bruton

Positive Menopause Switzerland, Supper Sisters

cassie photo.jpg

Cassie Meyer

All rounder

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-21 at 10.39.11.jpg

Heinz Bucher

Admin and all rounder

Karis4.jpg

Karis Johnson

Pregnant & New Mums

jacqueline photo.jpg

Jacqueline Fanchini

Pregnant & New Mums Alumni

Andrea Csala.jpg

Andrea Csala

Admin and all rounder

Liz McGinn.jpg

Liz McGinn

All rounder

Jackie Meyer.jpg

Jackie Mayer

Walk to Talk

Rhiannon Thomas.jpg

Rhiannon Thomas

Toddler Survivors

emma photo_edited.jpg

Emma Sugden

Baby First Aid 

Our partners

Logo-big.png
One Little Step Logo.jpg
Logo Rund 2.png
NH logo.png
open hand birth.png
bottom of page